Left-Handed Haiku Session

It’s cold, there is still a solid covering of snow on the ground, and my activities are restricted due to my recent hand surgery. Good time and place for some haiku-writing. So that’s what I did. Here is a group done in the last two days as I look out on a very wintry world from a warm room.

1.
The wind tears pages
from winter’s crowded notebook
but a few remain

2.
With a quick hard jerk
pages torn from winter’s book
scatter like snowflakes

3.
Read much too often
winter’s notebook falls open
at a well-worn page

4.
Shadows on the snow
trace out thoughts of bare trees
read by the cold wind

5.
Firm snow a cold skin
where shadows of bare-limbed trees
branch out like blue veins

6.
Silent tree shadows
branch and fork in dark blue veins
on the snow’s cold skin

7.
Shadows split and forked
on the skin of hard-set snow
bare-limbed trees veined blue

A page from my notebook. It's a laborious  and slow process to write with my left hand, but it gives me time to think, too.

A page from my notebook. It’s a laborious and slow process to write with my left hand, but it gives me time to think, too.

7 thoughts on “Left-Handed Haiku Session

Leave a Reply

