Cold, Wind, and Snow

Here is a group of haikus. We are having such a blustery cold day here. The weather is changing again and getting colder.

I wrote these one after another, as I sometimes do. The group makes a nice whole, or each one can be a little picture all on its own.

1.
Across the pale sky
the gray clouds unfold themselves
shake out their wrinkles

2.
Harsh wind goes to work
cuts the sky into pale strips
with sharp cold scissors

3.
How that hard wind blows
tosses a branch at the roof
drops it in the snow

4.
Muted by the snow
the thump of a falling branch
is no sound at all

7 thoughts on “Cold, Wind, and Snow

  1. Thank you! I can’t say how much I like writing these little haikus one after another. One idea ocurring after another. Somewhat like doing a series in my artwork, too – variations and expansions on a theme. Thank you for reading and for your enocouragement!

  2. Thank you. When my son was in the 4th grade, in the 1990’s, I did a workshop on haiku for the kids (having looked it up at the library a few days before, so I was no expert!) and found the form to be just – entrancing. So I have done many of them since then, and I love how the process works in writing them. And how they are just a tiny quick glimpse of what I am thinking, distilled down to the essentials. Thanks for reading them!

  3. 🙂
    Are you picking the words first from somewhere then you connect them or you just think the words up?
    It’s so interesting to see how a few words can make a compelling story. I have to admit I was playing with the idea to make some of my own haikus. I think once I wrote one…
    Hugs, Eva

  4. For me haikus always come from some picture that comes into my mind, usually from something I see in everyday life (such as the snow in our yard and the gusty wind and the intense cold we have been having recently, the way the trees look in the wind, the sky, etc., all were in my mind when I did the last set). These sights seem to bring to mind a few words or a phrase and this starts me thinking. I pay attention, focus really very hard on what I’m seeing and more words come to mind, or phrases. I write them all down. Then I kind of move things around (counting the syllables) and haiku lines start to appear. Then I might have a selection of several lines in the correct syllables (some 5 and some 7, I mean), but not in an order or going together. Then all of a sudden I can see how things might go together; I group them and then I fill in new lines that fit in, syllable-wise, and that I like – the existing lines sort of telling me what I need to write to finish the haiku.

    I keep lines that I like but that don’t fit off to the side and then see if they can inspire anything. Which they often do. Eventually I feel I’ve said all I want and I usually end up with several related haikus.

    Does this make sense? It’s kind of a contemplative process and I don’t seem to be able to force it (why I would not like to do a haiku-a-day or that kind of thing).

    I love haiku. To me it is like doing a small artwork. Just room for one small picture, with the hope that someone will read it and get a feeling from it.

Leave a Reply

