What Does This Mean?

I wrote this and I don’t really even know why. But I liked it, so I kept it. That’s enough.

Postcard From Another Planet

A meteor striking a busload of women
carrying designer handbags
purchased with overextended credit cards
and they all emerge, hairdos intact
the bus still driveable, though damaged –
I am seeing it happen.
Some people have all the luck.

"Person With Red Hands Hoping to Catch A Meteor" Mixed Media on Board 2012

“Person With Red Hands Hoping to Catch A Meteor”
Mixed Media on Board
2012

9 thoughts on “What Does This Mean?

  1. It meant something to me. I have made choices in life, which are very different to those of the majority of people living around me, so this piece made me think of the fact that sometimes I look at the women who are obsessed with material objects and wonder how they can be happy? Their lives seem to be going so well and I don’t understand it – how they are being rewarded for be a little shallow about things? I don’t know if this is what you meant by this piece, but this is what it made me think!

  2. I exercise in a gym not far my house but in a different neighborhood – the kind with big new houses and people trying hard to keep up to the possessions and lifestyle that goes with it. Over the years I have heard a lot of conversation in the locker room. Taken as a whole it’s a good portrait of what these ladies are thinking about most of the time. I’m older than most of them and in a different situation in life, and I get a feeling of what hard work it is to maintain that effortless lifestyle, though I don’t think they see it that way at all. It’s impossible to look good and buy everything and keep up all the time. When I wrote this poem I pictured this population, and I don’t know why I was so interested, except I have also wondered how they manage it, and if it will ever seem to be too much. Because a lot of what I’ve heard isn’t a sense of happiness with their lives, however good they look on the outside.

  3. Hi Claudia. I love the painting! Wonderful colour and the poem is very thought-provoking. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Thanks for liking both. I’ve been making a lot of little paintings/collages on 3/8″ boards – this one is only 4″ x 4″. I like fitting a whole story in such a small space, and the same thing goes for poetry, I guess! Nice to hear from you, I hope you are well.

Leave a Reply

