Ears are Open

I like listening to the “public” side of telephone conversations. Maybe I’m nosy, certainly I’m nosy, I should say, but seems to me there is plenty of drama and emotion happening right in front of us, free for the taking. Plenty of food for the imagination, filling in details of the bits of information I get sitting next to someone on a park bench or in the locker room at the gym.

Nothing on This Side of the Telephone

“There’s nothing more important
Don’t you think we are concerned.
I’ve been busy and then I had to go upstairs to look
I thought his advice wholly useless
he was going to do absolutely nothing
I counted them
his wife took nothing
That’s why I interrupted.
Come back here. Oh don’t be so theatrical
Well, suit yourself
How soon can we get the insurance
Because it is
I mean as far as caution,
he had responsibility
if it were out of place I do see
he would finish with nothing

"Nothing on This Side of the Telephone" on its page in my collage book.

“Nothing on This Side of the Telephone” on its page in my collage book.

Leave a Reply

