A Collage Poem Emerges On Its Own

A couple of weeks ago I was creating some collage poems to go with mail art. Or so I thought. As so often happens in my life, things took another direction all their own, although I didn’t realize it until I was finished. Here’s what happened.

I got out my collage poem supplies (consisting of the backgrounds I was using – this time, seven library cards; some glue; and some randomly torn out pages from old books I got for free from our library. Started cutting out things that appealed to me. Kind of mixing and matching from one background to the other. After a while, I had seven collage poems I liked. Then — I read them over and almost in spite of myself started to arrange them into an order. Strangely enough they went right along with this idea and so – here I am with a serial collage poem.

So I sent it off as mail art in seven different mailings all to the same person. I called the whole thing “Some Lack of Optimism”.

I’m not going to type it out – take a look at it instead on the cards, as it was meant to be read.

2 thoughts on “A Collage Poem Emerges On Its Own

  1. Hi, I’d be happy to. It’s really nothing more than sending pieces of art through the mail, and getting art in return. Pretty much any kind of art! I wrote a post on my other blog here, Claudia McGill and Her Art World, http://claudiamcgillart.wordpress.com/2013/03/17/mail-art-extravaganza/ , that might be of help, because people asked me this same question. And there are other posts in the category of Mail Art, if you want to see the examples of what I tend to send. Take a look and if you want to know more, I can give more details. I have most of my correspondents from the International Union of Mail Artists, http://iuoma-network.ning.com/, although I’ve picked up others along the way from other sources. It’s a lot of fun, mail art, and I’ve met a lot of very nice people all over the world doing it.

Leave a Reply

