Do You Really Know Your Friends?

This collage poem is on the first page of my collage book. It’s not the first one I did; you might remember I said I mailed that one off and didn’t keep an image. Anyway, doesn’t matter. Here’s another collage poem, that’s what I’m trying to say.

Aftereffect

well, it was like this

she wrote

with an effect of angry mockery,

beautiful qualities

turned into a cold timidity,

troubled with premonitions

I know her a little better than you do

Your sight blurred

You might take her for a friend,

faded from the weariness of too much dignity

halted by the angry voices of the crowd,

generous hopes vanished out of the confusion

If you don’t someone else will

"Aftereffect" on its page in my collage poem book.

“Aftereffect” on its page in my collage poem book.

5 thoughts on “Do You Really Know Your Friends?

  1. Thank you so much. I think the key to doing this kind of work is to let the words send you in a direction rather than having an idea or thought and then trying to find the words for it. Not always easy to let go of control so much, but you can end up with something you really wanted to say and maybe didn’t know it.

  2. If you look at my 2/12/13 post I explained how I do this collage poetry. Seems like it might be something you would like yourself from what you are saying. As you say, it’s about seeing what connections the words have. This is just using words already on paper, and kind of limiting the choices. I especially think cutting down the choices makes it work better, for me, anyway.

  3. yeah, i’ve done that a few times, just picking a random text in the newspaper and marking everything i don’t want to use with a black marker, and then what’s left is a poem (:

Leave a Reply

