Don’t Tell the Neighbors

It is not so easy to maintain order in a disorderly world. It helps if you don’t worry too much about this fact, but everyone has standards to uphold, it seems. Only it takes a lot of work sometimes, and so a shortcut here and there (and here and there) is not such a bad thing, I think.

Rationalization

 

The cat claws at the sofa

even in the best homes –

That’s what the cat does

or so I tell myself.

But how can I explain

the ink stain on the chair?

Let’s just say

the cushion will have a family side

and a company side

from now on.

And what about the cracked tiles

in the bathroom floor?

Try this –

Bathmat to the rescue.

 

I hear that even in the best homes

life’s full of cover-ups.

So I’m confident it’s OK

that we are doing it here, too.

"I Couldn't Be Having More Fun"mail art postcard collage and acrylics on advertising card background 2012

“I Couldn’t Be Having More Fun”
mail art postcard
collage and acrylics on advertising card background
2012

2 thoughts on “Don’t Tell the Neighbors

  1. Claudia,

    This is such an excellent poem!!! I laughed out loud; especially about the family side and company side of the pillow. This is totally my experience as well and loved seeing it in print. I am really enjoying your poems.

  2. Thank you so much, that means a lot to me. You know, I got the idea about the pillow because the dog we had when I was growing up “customized” the sofa cushion in the living room (a room we rarely used). When some important event was coming up and the living room would be needed, I noticed the cushion was always turned over – and then it went back to the other side afterwards. I always thought that was a nice accommodation for our dog and appearances were saved, too…

Leave a Reply

