I Politely Decline

Mom Is Still Thinking About It small

“Mom is Still Thinking About It”
2011, mixed media

Sometimes I have trouble saying no.

 

Yes But No

When asked I say

I can do it as soon as I find a ball of string

I can do it when I’ve mopped the basement

I can do it if the repairman comes on time

I can do it but I must check to see if we have any pickles

I can do it if there’s any soap left

I can do it after seven but before eight

I can do it once the cat comes home

I can do it but first I have to wash my wig

I can do it after I take a shower

and if it doesn’t interfere with dinner

or weeding the garden

or my aquafit class.

In other words

I can’t do it.

Leave a Reply

